Sweet, savory and a touch spicy, this Chipotle-Pulled Pork Sandwich is easy to put together – especially when using a slow cooker. When topped with our creamy coleslaw, it helps to balance the spiciness of the pork and creates a tasty crunch with every bite.
Remove liquid from slow cooker and pour into a sauce pan (can remove some fat if desired, using one of these separater type measuring cups). Bring to a boil, then simmer uncovered, until it is reduced to your desired consistency (about 10-15 minutes).
|Chipotle-Pulled Pork Sandwich|| |
- ½ cup onion, chopped
- 1-2 canned chipotle peppers in GF adobo sauce
- 1 Tbsp lime juice
- 4 cloves garlic, minced
- 1 tsp cumin
- 12 oz can cola
- 3 lb boneless pork shoulder (or butt)
- Into blender combine onion, peppers, lime juice, garlic and cumin. Process until smooth, adding just enough of the cola until mixture is smooth. Stir in remaining cola.
- Place roast into slow cooker and pour mixture over. Cover and cook on low 8-10 hours, or on high 4- 5 hours.
- Using two forks, pull apart the meat into shreds, then cut into bite-sized pieces. Set aside.
- Remove liquid from slow cooker and pour into a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, then simmer uncovered, until it is reduced to your desired consistency (about 10-15 minutes). Stir in shredded meat, stirring until fully coated and heated throughout. Season to taste with salt if desired.
- To serve, top split buns with pulled pork mixture and some coleslaw.
Cola adds sweetness as well as a rich caramel flavor. However, in place of cola you could always use:
1 Tbsp tomato paste
2 Tbsp GF Dijon mustard
¾ cup white vinegar
1/3 cup GF ketchup
2 tsp GF Worcestershire sauce
¼ cup brown sugar
+ water to make mixture up to 12oz
A note on caramel coloring: Pepsi and Coca-Cola in the U.S., Canada, and the UK have gluten free cola. Although caramel coloring can be made from barely, it is now made mainly from corn or cane sugar. If wheat/barley was used, it would be included on the ingredient label as per the new labeling laws.
All other brands of cola, such as no-name or those produced in other parts of the world, is where you need to be concerned of caramel coloring being derived from wheat products. In those cases you’ll need to contact the manufacturers, since labeling laws in those areas may not require gluten to be listed on the ingredient list.
Some cola’s that claim to be gluten free can still be using wheat-based caramel coloring, however after all the processing that the product goes through the gluten levels are less than the 20ppm which is what the FDA/CFIA consider to be gluten free. However, if you are one of those people who are ultra-sensitive to gluten, then you may still react to these types of gluten free sodas, and they should be avoided.