Top Menu

How Gluten Can Hide In Your Candy

Different sorts of candies for background

There are several manufacturers of candy that label their product gluten-free. Why are so many gluten intolerant people still reacting to this candy?

According to food labeling rules, the ingredients in candy must be listed on the label. They can say that they are gluten-free if there is no gluten in the actual ingredients. The problem is that companies are not required to list any product that may dust the surface or block that the candy is rolled on in its preparation for packaging.

It was discovered that some companies use wheat flour for dusting the candy to make sure it would not stick on the conveyer belt during the manufacturing process.  If you’re really craving that candy, I would suggest contacting the manufacturer to find out if there might be any cross-contamination issues.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Comments

comments