Man kind of spices in wooden bowl and spoons

Worried About Food Additives & Seasonings?

Man kind of spices in wooden bowl and spoons

Anyone on a restricted diet knows how difficult it is to avoid hidden sources of gluten.
Food additives and seasonings can contain hidden gluten. It is nice to know that there are many additives and seasonings that are gluten-free and safe.  Here are a few things to be aware of:

Citric acid
This is usually made from corn, beet sugar, or molasses.  It is highly processed and purified.

Monosodium glutamate is often found in Chinese food. It’s is made from the fermentation of corn, sugar beets, or sugar cane.

Made from distilled alcohol that is either extracted from the vanilla seed or comes from artificial vanilla flavoring. Distillation removes the gluten protein.

Vinegar is gluten-free if it is distilled. Malt vinegar is not distilled and should be avoided.

When you see “starch” on food labels it always means corn starch and is gluten-free.

Safe spices: garlic salt, ground cumin, onion powder, chili powder, paprika, and onion powder.

There are many wonderful spices that are gluten-free and delicious on fresh seafood and vegetables. The company “Bragg” and “Epicurious” make several tasty gluten free seasonings.

See also
Why Switch To Grass-Fed Red Meat?

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.