What Is Xanthan Gum?

Blonde Frau kratzt sich nachdenklich am Kopf

Blonde Frau kratzt sich nachdenklich am Kopf

Xanthan gum is a polysaccharide used as a food additive and theology modifier. It is produced by fermentation of glucose or sucrose by the Xanthomonas. Xanthan Gum is considered a polysaccharide in scientific circles, because it is a long chain of three different forms of sugar. What’s important to know is that all three of these natural sugars are present in corn sugar, a derivative of corn syrup. It does not contain gluten.

Xanthan Gum is also used as a substitute for wheat gluten in gluten-free breads, pastas and other flour-based food products. Those who suffer from gluten allergies should look for Xanthan Gum as an ingredient on the label.

Xanthan Gum is used by people who are allergic to gluten to add volume and viscosity to bread and other gluten-free baked goods. It is made from a tiny microorganism called Xanthomonas campestris and is a natural carbohydrate. Xanthan Gum helps replace the gluten in a recipe and aid in binding and thickening recipes. It is an essential ingredient in gluten free baking.

Many people with Celiac disease and gluten intolerance have reported an allergic reaction to Xanthum Gum. Symptoms include bloating, gas, stomach cramps, diarrhea, skin rashes and itching.  If you have an issue with soy or corn, it is likely you will have a problem with Xanthum Gum as well. Safe alternatives would be karaya gum, agar and carrageenan.


Need some help converting a regular recipe into a gluten-free version? Download our Flour Conversion Chart


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.